NaNoWriMo: The Week 2 Slump

At some point, the nightmares came and I stopped sleeping well. They were weird and very stressful. After that began, my mood went quickly and my writing inspiration followed. Sleep isn’t just essential. It’s everything.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 12.29.14 PM

It was Day 7 of NaNo when I couldn’t take it anymore. I took the day off from writing. I should probably explain that I work 12 hour days. I’m also someone who needs to write in the morning. On weekdays, I get up 90 minutes before I have to start getting ready from work, so that I can get through a solid 2,000 words before I go to work. On Friday I couldn’t make myself get up and I took the day off. While I needed the extra sleep, it started a complacency with my NaNoWriMo that is never a good thing. I had already hit 20,000 words and was comfortably ahead. On Saturday, I had planned to write a solid 5,000, as I had done the last Saturday on Day 1. I squeezed out a meager 1,800. On Sunday, I squeezed out only 3,600. Way short of my weekend goals.

My realization: Week 2 is hard! The initial excitement has faded and I’m deep into the trudging along phase. No fun. However, the important thing is that I at least get that 1,667 every day. Even with just doing that, I’ll finish well ahead of schedule because of writing so much in Week 1!

Leave a Reply

